Log in

Log in

2018 Conference: Democratic Failure

The 2018 conference, on “Democratic Failure,” was held on September 28, 2018 at Boston University School of Law. The co-chairs of the conference were Melissa Schwartzberg, Political Science, NYU (NOMOS editor), and James Fleming, Boston University, ASPLP President.

Political Science: “Representation Failure”

  • Principal paper: Jane Mansbridge (via skype) (Harvard University, Political Science)
  • Commentator: Yasmin Dawood (University of Toronto, Law)
  • Commentator: Michael Fuerstein (St. Olaf College, Philosophy)

Philosophy: “DuBois's Defense of Democracy”

  • Principal paper: Derrick Darby (University of Michigan, Philosophy)
  • Commentator: Turkuler Isiksel (Columbia University, Political Science)
  • Commentator: Mark Tushnet (Harvard University, Law)

Law: “Democratic Failure”

  • Principal paper: Aziz Huq (University of Chicago, Law)
  • Commentator: Gerald Postema (University of North Carolina, Philosophy)
  • Commentator: Alexander Kirshner (Duke University, Political Science)

Follow our activities

© American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy, All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software